Getting Started by Mark Twain


“The secret of getting ahead is getting started.  The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and then starting on the first one.”

 – Mark Twain

This was this morning’s quote for my Meetup group.  It’s a very simple message yet very powerful.  I have often found myself running in circles when I have a huge task that overwhelms me.  Picture a circling boat without a captain at the helm; round and round we go.   You get the idea.   

How do you break overwhelming tasks down?  Lists!  Ingenious, isn’t it?

This vision I have for my next chapter of my life has so many moving pieces, not only am I impatient to go through the process, I’m really not sure where to begin. 

Thank you Mark Twain!  I’m going to start making some lists. 

10 Comments on “Getting Started by Mark Twain”

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Without lists I’d be lost. Sometimes I find an old one tucked into a pocket or drawer, and wonder what in the heck all the stuff on my list means.

    • A Visionary says:

      LOL! I’ve been a list user for everything in my daily life (I too would be lost without them!), but never even thought of making a list for this project I have in my head! Wish me luck. 🙂

  2. PriConnects says:

    Great saying! I have been practicing this for couple of days now ….AND my life has changed for good 🙂 I feel, think and work better…get more things done through the day!
    Good luck Lynn. 🙂

  3. […] Getting Started by Mark Twain (theprojectreinvention.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Getting Started by Mark Twain (theprojectreinvention.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Getting Started by Mark Twain (theprojectreinvention.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

