I want to feel alive!


This is statement that came out of my last coaching session and it has really resonated with me.  Yes!  I want to feel alive! 

This life coaching process is kind of like therapy (only a lot cheaper) and I’m really diggin’ it.  My seasoned coach asked me a ton of questions that I’ve never really given much thought to before, one of which was something along the lines of “what makes you feel alive?”  I really had to think about that before I could answer.  After feeling so lost this past 18 months, the only response I could come up with was “Yes!  I want to feel alive!”

Digging deep into your true self and peeling back the layers is not an easy thing to do; this I am discovering.  Hey, when was the last time anyone asked you “what do you really want to do?!”  Think about it for a few minutes and try answering.  It’s not as easy as it may seem.

 It’s like we’re on the gerbil wheel of life and you keep spinning, spinning, just going through the motions.  I believe it is so true that we are innately programmed to do the right thing, even if it is not something that brings us joy or fulfillment.  We just stay on the gerbil wheel ’cause it’s what you are supposed to do. 

It certainly doesn’t help when we are surrounded by friends and family who unknowingly (and unintentionally) feed us with negative energy and limiting beliefs that make us feel obligated or even guilty for wanting something more.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been told to “suck it up”.   

I’ve got two pages of “life purpose” exercises that I will read again today (for the umpteenth time) and I will try to dig a little deeper to find some answers.   Personally, it’s more fun writing about this struggle than having to actually deal with it.    

4 Comments on “I want to feel alive!”

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Swimming makes me feel alive. If this might interest you, find out if there’s a US Masters swim group in your town.
    (I didn’t even know how to swim when I joined at age 50.)

  2. You said it so well. That’s why I believe in Gutsy Living: Life is too short to play it safe. You might want to read Chris Guillebeau on Google. He started a movement called, “The Art of Non-Conformity,” and I went to his first conference in Portland, last June. So many people can relate to what he says.


Leave a Reply

