Dreams and Inner Voices


Who would have ever thought that a dream and a mouse would become the Disney empire we all know and love today.  Walt Disney obviously conquered his “inner voices” by truly believing in his dream and making the dream happen.  And BOY, did he ever make it happen.

Many of us have dreams of where we would like to be in life, where we would like to go.  Some of us make these dreams happen and some of us keep on dreaming because those little voices inside our head tell us all the reasons why we can’t make our dreams come true.  

Today I experienced a revelation:  I now recognize my inner voice!  This is my nasty negative inner voice that tells me “oh, you don’t have the credentials to do this”come on, how are you going to make this happen?” “how would you even know where to start?”  Are you familiar with this inner voice?  Oh, I bet you are!  We all have one.  Some of us conquer it but sadly, most of us succumb to it.

During my first coaching session I was officially introduced to my inner voice and let me tell you, this voice is a powerful little bugger.  When I dream my dream for the next chapter in my journey of life, this voice takes me from a creative high to a self-deprecating low in a manner of minutes.

 In the wise words of my new coach, she told me “The universe supports patience and persistence; make peace with the process.”  I can see this is going to be quite a process.

Leave a Reply

